Starting Collection

SammyJ

Padawan
Hi all,
Been a massive Star Wars fan for years now, but recently I've really had the urge to start a vintage collection. I'm completely new to it all so i was just wondering if you guys would be able to help me out :D
I just have simple questions like where you think I should start, best places to purchase, that sort of thing. Link to different posts and websites would be really helpful!

Thanks in advance guys!

Pomse2001

Grand Master
Hi sammy welcome to the forum, If I was you I would start with one of each figure.

You can buy on this forum, see the link http://www.starwarsforum.co.uk/viewforum.php?f=4

You can also buy on Ebay, but there is a lot of bad sellers on Ebay.

Grant_C

Grand Master
Supporter
Welcome to the forum- the forum on here is a great place to start.

There is a lot to learn, so ask lots of questions.

Beware of fakes and repros that are in abundance on ebay.

Dublinjeff

Grand Master
Hi mate,

You have come to the right place for advice anyway. Some genuine experts on here that can help you find out what you want to know.

Sound advice there from Lars and Grant :D

For what it's worth, my two cents would be, maybe putting together a loose collection is the best bet. That way you can get a feel for what interests you as a collector. It can be easy to get sidetracked when you're just starting out, I found anyway. As you build your collection, it might turn out to be that MOC (carded figures) is for you. Every collector is different

With regards to buying items, look no further than the 'Vintage sales thread' right here. There isn't much you can't find. There are a number of reputable sellers including myself :lol: on here. If you are looking for loose figures Iain on here will most likely be able to sort you out with some great deals.