Header image

Jawa Vinyl Capes?

Discuss vintage Kenner and Palitoy Star Wars toys from the 1977-1985 era.
ZuckussOZ
New User
New User

Jawa Vinyl Capes?

Postby ZuckussOZ » Sat Aug 05, 2017 9:42 am

Hi, I have been collecting since the late 1980's on and off and I managed to gather quite a few Jawa's in my time. I have received a few without cloth capes over the years and I have simply matched with spare cloth capes.

Recently I stumbled upon a thread in this very forum discussing the correct COO's of the VCJ and sure enough I have two! Not only that, they are immaculate copies with zero paint rubs and tight joints.

My question is, these currently do not have vinyl capes and I have looked around on ebay and I just have to ask, how often do vinyl jawa capes turn up for sale on their own? Better yet, if anyone out there has at least one for sale, please let me know. I would love to finally complete my collection.

Thanks!

edd_jedi
Admin
Admin

Re: Jawa Vinyl Capes?

Postby edd_jedi » Sat Aug 05, 2017 9:48 am

Welcome to the forum. The cape is 99.9% of the value. Even if you found a loose cape for sale, it would basically be the same price as the complete figure.

There was a period recently where people were selling "vinyl cape Jawa's without cape" like you have, but that COO was also present on many cloth caped Jawa's so it's fairly meaningless. Yes it's correct, but it doesn't really add any value or rarity.

SublevelStudios
Jedi Master
Jedi Master

Postby SublevelStudios » Sat Aug 05, 2017 10:20 am

You've got more chance of getting a blow job from Rachel Riley than you have of finding a loose VCJ cape and even if you did it would make exactly zero difference to the price compared to a complete one I'm afraid, as Ed has said.

yoda
Jedi Master
Jedi Master

Postby yoda » Sat Aug 05, 2017 10:49 am