Header image

To break or not to break?

Discuss vintage Kenner and Palitoy Star Wars toys from the 1977-1985 era.
subzero
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight

To break or not to break?

Postby subzero » Mon Oct 16, 2017 5:09 pm

Just got in this graded Fett for a sick price, thought i'd never own one due to how expensive these go for and the high asking prices, but seen this pop up for sale for a very fair price.

This is graded a 50 with a 'Y' ( bubble isn't even that yellow to me ), and i'm not an expert on grading in any way but IMO this is not a 50 to me at all, personally I see it as a 70 if I was to guess. The only thing wrong with this MOC is the creasing around the top which i'm actually happy with, and slight edge wear and small litho tear which i'll never even look at as a problem.

So the question is, I think this grade actually devalues the figure, so iv'e half thought of breaking this open to stick it in my own case so it wont have a shitty 50 grade taking attention away from the figure, and when it comes to selling it years later I think it would fetch a higher price ungraded.

What are your opinions do you think the grade devalues it?, or should it be left alone?, when does it become 'acceptable' to break a graded case open?... i'd like to break it open but don't know if i'd be making a big mistake doing that.

DSCF7922.JPG

DSCF7927.JPG

DSCF7925.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Chavs are easily startled, but they will soon be back, and in greater numbers

kieatky
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight

Re: To break or not to break?

Postby kieatky » Mon Oct 16, 2017 5:14 pm

Congratulations on the purchase mate, I saw it pop up for sale on Evil Bay and was deliberating hitting the 'buy it now' price and by the time I made my mind up it had gone. Glad its gone to someone on here though. As for the 'grade', ignore it, as long as you're happy with it then who cares what anyone else thinks :D

Clarkspie&chips
Jedi Knight