Header image

R2 sensorscope with paint app issue

Ask expert collectors for advice on pricing items.
User avatar
peekaygee73
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight
Posts: 810
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 7:56 pm

R2 sensorscope with paint app issue

Postby peekaygee73 » Sun Jan 28, 2018 4:44 pm

I've recently upgraded my loose R2 sensorscope and noticed my old figure had a paint application issue - specifically, one of the legs has no paint on at all. I've had it a long time and I certainly didn't strip it, so I'm wondering if it came from the factory that way. Is there an easy way to tell? If it is a factory issue how (if at all) does that affect the value?

R2-sense1.jpg
R2-sense1.jpg (39.9 KiB) Viewed 97 times

R2-sense2.jpg
R2-sense2.jpg (44.28 KiB) Viewed 97 times

User avatar
Darkest_Logic
Regular
Regular
Posts: 218
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2016 2:22 pm

Re: R2 sensorscope with paint app issue

Postby Darkest_Logic » Sun Jan 28, 2018 9:31 pm

hi,

In my opinion it looks like it came from the factory like that.

I would say it would not add anymore value to the figure but I could be wrong, someone focusing on R2D2 variants might pay a little bit more as its a factory error.

I hope this helps.
Looking For
(AFA / UKG) Tri logo Luke Skywalker Stormtrooper MOC
(AFA / UKG) Tri logo R2-D2 Pop-up Lightsabre MOC
(AFA / UKG) Tri logo Emperors Royal Guard MOC

User avatar
StarWarsFan
Sith Lord
Sith Lord
Posts: 2726
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 5:18 pm

Re: R2 sensorscope with paint app issue

Postby StarWarsFan » Sun Jan 28, 2018 9:43 pm

peekaygee73 wrote:I've recently upgraded my loose R2 sensorscope and noticed my old figure had a paint application issue - specifically, one of the legs has no paint on at all. I've had it a long time and I certainly didn't strip it, so I'm wondering if it came from the factory that way. Is there an easy way to tell? If it is a factory issue how (if at all) does that affect the value?

R2-sense1.jpg
R2-sense2.jpg


Wayne Totty who is part of Echo Base live have a good knowledge of R2's he maybe able to help.

User avatar
hellhippie
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight
Posts: 572
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 11:16 pm

Re: R2 sensorscope with paint app issue

Postby hellhippie » Mon Jan 29, 2018 7:32 pm

factory errors on paint apps come down to how badly someone wants it over fair market value .
sometimes they go for more others not . its a good looking r2 nonetheless
id rather be fishing

User avatar
poncho
Sith Lord
Sith Lord
Posts: 4954
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 8:16 pm
Location: North Wales

Re: R2 sensorscope with paint app issue

Postby poncho » Mon Jan 29, 2018 10:21 pm

model paint touch up i think as its raised...but who knows

User avatar
peekaygee73
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight
Posts: 810
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 7:56 pm

Re: R2 sensorscope with paint app issue

Postby peekaygee73 » Tue Jan 30, 2018 12:27 pm

Thanks for the feedback guys.

poncho wrote:model paint touch up i think as its raised...but who knows

I'm not sure what makes you think it looks like it's painted. Maybe the picture hasn't come out so well as it's definitely down to the plastic with no paint present at all.


Return to “Vintage Valuation Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests