Beginner dos and don'ts

Wild Whiphid

Padawan
Hey all,

Any of the collecting grandmasters over here got any good "dos" or "dont's" for a beginning vintage collector?
I haven't been able to find a specific topic about this, if there is, kick my *ss over there please :D

I've recently started collecting (loose) vintage figures. I'm not a newbie in the whole field of collecting, as I have been collecting modern SW for the last 16 years. But obviously, vintage is a whole different game...
One "don't" I'm sticking to atm is not buying a (near-)complete collection, as that takes away all the fun for me.

Anything to keep in mind while expanding the collection?
Much appreciated! :mrgreen:

Grant_C

Grand Master
Supporter
If your collecting loose figures you may get stung on weapons.

As a start- check out this fantastic guide:

http://www.imperialgunnery.com/

Badderius

Jedi Knight
Loose figures are a nightmare on ebay at the moment, repro weapons ect.

Do: Purchase from the forum, legit and policed by collectors.

Don't: Take a bet on ebay with loose figures, repro city.

Do: Enjoy it, tis addictive :)

db94

Sith Lord
Supporter
Don't overspend - set a limit and stick to it

Don't try and compete with other collectors - your collection is personal to you, just because other people collect doesn't mean you have to as well

Don't cut down on spending on other things like drink, holidays, blu rays food etc

Don't spend time trying to rationalise/justify your purchases to your family

Do realise that you'll never stick to the above - Star Wars collecting hits that magic spot in all of us and except you will no longer have spare cash :D

Michael Sith

Grand Master
Supporter
Don't spend 10 minutes listing do s and don't s that when you submit...disappear into the ether( like I've just done) :roll:

In synopsis.....buy on this forum, forget eBay, enjoy your collecting, have a focus, complete that before moving to your next ( of which I can assure you there will be many)