To break or not to break?

subzero

Sith Lord
Just got in this graded Fett for a sick price, thought i'd never own one due to how expensive these go for and the high asking prices, but seen this pop up for sale for a very fair price.

This is graded a 50 with a 'Y' ( bubble isn't even that yellow to me ), and i'm not an expert on grading in any way but IMO this is not a 50 to me at all, personally I see it as a 70 if I was to guess. The only thing wrong with this MOC is the creasing around the top which i'm actually happy with, and slight edge wear and small litho tear which i'll never even look at as a problem.

So the question is, I think this grade actually devalues the figure, so iv'e half thought of breaking this open to stick it in my own case so it wont have a shitty 50 grade taking attention away from the figure, and when it comes to selling it years later I think it would fetch a higher price ungraded.

What are your opinions do you think the grade devalues it?, or should it be left alone?, when does it become 'acceptable' to break a graded case open?... i'd like to break it open but don't know if i'd be making a big mistake doing that.

DSCF7922.JPG

DSCF7927.JPG

DSCF7925.JPG

kieatky

Jedi Master
Congratulations on the purchase mate, I saw it pop up for sale on Evil Bay and was deliberating hitting the 'buy it now' price and by the time I made my mind up it had gone. Glad its gone to someone on here though. As for the 'grade', ignore it, as long as you're happy with it then who cares what anyone else thinks :D

Clarkspie&chips

Sith Lord
^^ exactly, who cares what the grade says, if you break it out you'll just have to buy another case so I'd leave it.

Mini99

Sith Lord
Supporter
Is anyone other than you going to see this?
Does it really piss you off?
I personally think that a 50 grade can be opened without devaluation, but if it was mine I think I would be more worried about damaging it when breaking it out!